

J. Neafie Mitchell (1919-1996)

C. Edward S. Mitchell Robert A. Gallagher Gary L. Weber Bret J. Southard Sean P. Roman Rebecca L. Penn

Email: emitchell@mitchellgallagher.com

December 31, 2008

Jessica Engel, Executive Director Lycoming Law Association 25 West Third Street, Ste. 601 Williamsport, PA 17701

> Re: Report of Bench/Bar Committee of Lycoming Law Association -- 2008

Dear Jessica:

The members of the Bench/Bar Committee for 2008 were as follows:

Honorable Clinton W. Smith, Honorable Kenneth Brown, Honorable William S. Kieser, Honorable Nancy Butts, Honorable Dudley Anderson, Honorable Richard Gray, Kevin Way, Court Administrator, William Burd, Prothonotary, Richard Callahan, Roan Confer, Jr., Robert Elion, Jennifer Heverly, William Knecht, Eric Linhardt, District Attorney, Marc Lovecchio, Joy Reynolds McCoy, C. Edward S. Mitchell, Joseph L. Rider, Clifford A. Rieders, Tammy Taylor, Mike Wiley, and W. Jeffrey Yates.

The Committee met January 7, 2008, April 7, 2008, August 4, 2008, and November 24, 2008. Minutes of the meetings are posted on the Lycoming Law Association web site.

Attendance at meetings by the bar members improved during 2008. Attendance by judges deteriorated during 2008.

Topics discussed included: Pro Se Custody matters, Orphans Court rules, Judicial Assignments, Management of Criminal Cases, Jurisdiction of Family Court Hearing Officers, Courtroom Equipment, Makeup of Jury Lists, Re-evaluation of Civil Case Management Deadlines, Underage Drinking court, Unauthorized Practice of Law, and Resolutions and Special Sessions of Court in Memory of Deceased Members.

Meetings for 2009 are scheduled as follows: January 5, April 6, August 3 and November 2.

Respectfully submitted,

C. Edward S. Mitchell, Chairman

CESM/nrr