## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Lycoming Law Association

FROM: John P. Pietrovito, Chairperson

DATE: January 4, 2010

RE: Annual Report of the Mock Trial Committee

The District Competitions for our district (District 2) were held in the Lycoming County Courthouse. This phase of the competition was organized by Julieanne Steinbacher, Esquire, who served as the District Coordinator for our district. Judges and Magesterial District Judges from Lycoming County presided over these trials.

Once again, the Regional Final Competition was held in the United States Federal Courthouse for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, in Williamsport, Pennsylvania. United States Magistrate William I. Arbuckle, III presided over this trial.

Attorneys and paralegals from Lycoming County volunteered their time to serve as jurors for the District and Regional Competitions held in Lycoming County.

The Lycoming Law Association presented a plaque to Montoursville High School and the students who participated in the 2009 Mock Trial Competition. The plaque recognized the students' hard work and dedication in winning the District 2 Competition and the Regional Competition. The Lycoming Law Association and the Mock Trial Committee will present plaques to the District 2 and Regional Competition winners in the upcoming 2010 competition. The LLA and the Committee also plan to present framed certificates to each student who is voted Best Witness and Best Advocate for each trial in the District 2 and Regional Competition in 2010.

The 2010 National Mock Trial Competition will be held in Philadelphia,

Pennsylvania. The Lycoming Law Association approved the request of the Mock Trial Committee and the Young Lawyers Committee to make a financial contribution to the National Mock Trial Competition to help defray the students' expenses for lodging and transportation.

It is anticipated that Julieanne Steinbacher, Esquire, will again serve as the District 2 Coordinator for the 2010 competition and Donald Martino, Esquire, will again serve as the Regional Coordinator for the 2010 competition.