BAR HISTORY COMMITTEE OF THE LYCOMING LAW ASSOCIATION, 2010

The Bar History Committee met during 2010, reviewed and discussed pending and ongoing priorities, along with progress to date.

A definitive history of the Lycoming County Bar from 1795 to 1960, was completed and published by Marshall Anspach, Esquire. An updated volume covering the years 1960-1989, is provided continuously to all new admittees to the Lycoming County Bar.

The LLA and this Committee continue to update biographies, identification, and sketches maintained and coordinated through, Gary Weber, Esquire. All members of the Association are encouraged to review their own biographies, and provide updates and anecdotal information for our deceased members.

Specific meetings were held with Michael Pilato, mural project artist, to explore the Law Association's interest to join in this community effort. On April 7, 2010, an excellent history of the community mural project was discussed, and on June 16th, a meeting of the Committee and others was held, and the process for the Association to participate. Specifically, Cliff Rieders agreed to co-chair the development and review of a Mission Statement was set as a first priority. Raising funds, ideas shared, a process for identifying locations, and making of nominations for consideration on the mural, and a time line were reviewed.

In December, at the memorial service for Tony Miele and later at the new bar admittees ceremony renewed interest was noted for preserving the rich heritage in the Lycoming County Bar. As documented in the Pennsylvania Bar Association Charter, Article III, Purpose, "to perpetuate the history of the profession and the memory of its members". LLA Bar History Committee strives to perpetuate this purpose, with everyone's input, interest and involvement, which is encouraged, as we engage in the practice of law in Lycoming County.

Members of 2010 Committee, and Attendees at the meetings were:

Andrea Bower Robert Elion

Eric Linhardt William Knecht

Malcolm Muir John Pietrovito

William Nichols Cliff Rieders

Robin Read Ronald Travis

Paul Roman Mike Pilato, Muralist

Gary Weber Jessica Engel, Exec. Director

Respectfully submitted,

Charles F. Greevy, III, Chairman

Date: January 10, 2011