

Penn Tower • 25 West Third Street, Suite 803 • Williamsport, PA 17701 570-323-8287 • Fax: 570-323-9897 www.lycolaw.org

Executive Director's Report 2020

2020 presented a whole new set of challenges for the Lycoming Law Association, its members and our courts. However, the LLA's commitment to promoting the profession, educating its members and assisting the community remained unchanged.

In January the LLA saw Past President Ryan Tira sworn in as county judge. Also taking the oath of office, for their second terms as county judges, were Marc Lovecchio and Joy Reynolds McCoy. LLA Member Aaron Biichle joined the minor judiciary and took his oath of office as well.





Also in January, the LLA Members added Joy Renyolds McCoy and Ryan Gardner to the Executive Committee and elected Angela Campana Lovecchio to be the 2020 President. After the annual meeting, everyone gathered for the Annual Banquet. At this event, Gary Weber was recognized for his community service, Kristine Waltz was posthumously awarded the Thomas Wood Award and Skip Greevy was honored for his fifty years of membership in the organization.





In February, I attended the Conference of County Bar Leaders with President Lovecchio and President-Elect Donald Martino. At this conference, the LLA was recognized for some of its community work.



In March, the pandemic caused everything to shut down. Prior to this shut down, the LLA scheduled six PBI CLE presentations, had one Eat and Earn event and several committee meetings, including planning for a 2020 Wills for Heroes event and the Law Day Competition. Unfortunately, both those events, and many others, were cancelled.

Production of the Lycoming Reporter is one of the most important functions of the LLA. I think that it's important to note that during the shutdown there was never a lapse in publication of the legal journal.

Despite the pandemic and shutdown, the LLA was able to have some events, though some of them had to be held online:

- Judge Tira's Judicial Portrait Session;
- Two Yoga in the Park Events;
- 6 Zoom CLE offerings;
- Pumpkins and photos at the farm;
- Kristine Waltz' Memorial Service;
- New Attorney Admission Ceremony; and
- Angel Tree Holiday Drive











Other virtual events included John Pietrovito's election to serve as Zone 4 Governor to the PBA and LLA representation at two PBA House of Delegates meetings.

To help navigate the LLA through these unprecedented times, I attended bi-weekly meetings of the Pennsylvania Bar Executives and the Conference of County Legal Journals. I have never seen such collaboration between the county bar executives before! While these meetings are time consuming, it is my hope that they will continue in 2021.

The LLA's committees provide members with a unique opportunity to meet and network with colleagues in every possible area of practice. The Bench Bar Committee maintained its scheduled quarterly meetings during the entire year by utilizing telephone conference calls. The Community Outreach Committee met virtually in 2020 as well. Of course, the Executive Committee met, via Zoom, throughout the year also. I encourage the other committees to schedule meetings in 2021. The LLA has a Zoom account and I am happy to assist by setting up virtual meetings for the committees.

Given the importance of the LLA's committee work, 2021 President Martino and I will work toward facilitating more collaboration among committee members. Historically, I notice that some of you have served on the same committees for twenty years, or more! If you were a member of the LLA in 2000, look below to see which committees you were on that year:

LYCOMING LAW ASSOCIATION 2000 COMMITTEES & PROGRAMS

ANNUAL BANQUET

Paul A. Roman - Chairperson Andrea B. Bower

AWARDS AND RECOGNITION

Ronald C. Travis, Chairperson

BAR HISTORY

Charles F. Greevy, III - Chairperson Gregory A. Stapp George E. Orwig, II

BENCH/BAR

Clifford A. Rieders - Chairperson
Janice R. Yaw
Joseph L. Rider
Joseph A. Campagna, Jr.
David F. Wilk
Joy Reynolds McCoy
Gary L. Weber
William L. Knecht
Kevin H. Way
C. Edward S. Mitchell
Marc Lovecchio
Gary T. Harris

Hon. William S. Kieser
Hon. Nancy L. Butts
Hon. Kenneth D. Brown
Hon. Clinton W. Smith
Hon. Dudley N. Anderson
Hon. Charles F. Greevy
Robert B. Elion
Kristine L. Waltz
Anthony J. Grieco
Thomas C. Raup
Carl E. Barlett

BYLAWS

Continuing Legal Education

Richard A. Vanderlin - Chairperson William L. Knecht Kimberly G. Zdanowicz Marc F. Lovecchio

CUSTOMS AND RULES

Gary L. Weber - Chairperson Norman M. Lubin Stephen C. Sholder John P. Pietrovito Kathleen O'Donnell Marc S. Drier

Kevin H. Way Gary T. Harris J. Michael Wiley Kenneth B. Young Darryl R. Wishard

ENVIRONMENTAL

Amy Ershler - Chairperson John P. Pietrovito J. Michael Wiley

ESTATE PLANNING

Carl E. Barlett - Chairperson Andrea B. Bower William L. Knecht Charles F. Greevy, III Scott A. Williams John A. Smay John R. Zurich

Jeffrey A. Marshall Roan J. Confer, Jr. Steven D. Hess L. Craig Harris Lester L. Greevy, Jr. Joseph L. Rider

FAMILY PICNIC

FEE DISPUTE

Marc S. Drier, Chairperon John R. Bonner George E. Orwig, II

INNS OF COURT - (Officers Elected)

Marc C. Lovecchio - Chairperson John P. Pietrovito Jeffrey C. Dohrmann Paul A. Roman Hon. Nancy L. Butts Charles F. Greevy, III William P. Carlucci Kathleen O'Donnell Joseph F. Orso, III Scott A. Williams Robin A. Read Andrea B. Bower

LAW DAY '00

Joseph F. Orso, III - Chairperson Jonathan E. Butterfield David F. Wilk John A. Gummo

Hon. William S. Kieser

LEGAL SERVICES FOR THE INDIGENT

Joseph A. Campagna, Jr. - Chairperson John A. Smay Elizabeth A. Sutliff John P. Pietrovito Jeffrey C. Dohrmann

LEGAL TECHNOLOGY COMPUTER

William P. Carlucci - Chairperson Jeffrey A. Marshall Kimberly G. Zdanowicz Darryl R. Wishard Steven D. Hess Gary L. Weber Andrea B. Bower

LYCOMING COUNTY BAR FOUNDATION

Carl E. Barlett, Chairperson Joseph L. Rider William E. Nichols, Jr. Joseph A. Campagna, Jr. Benjamin E. Landon

LYCOMING REPORTER

William L. Knecht, Editor

MOCK TRIAL COMPETITION

John P. Pietrovito - Chairperson Andrea J. Myers Hon. Nancy L. Butts Marc F. Lovecchio Rhonda L. Davis Jeffrey C. Dohrmann

NOMINATING

William H. Askey - Chairperson Joseph L. Rider William P. Carlucci

PUBLIC RELATIONS/PUBLICITY

Gary T. Harris - Chairperson Richard A. Gahr John A. Felix Robert A. Eckenrode Pamela L. Shipman

David C. Shipman

REAL ESTATE

Fred A. Holland, Chairperson Andrea B. Bower Lester L. Greevy, Jr. William L. Knecht Malcolm S. Mussina John A. Smay

J. Howard Langdon Scott A. Williams Carl E. Barlett L. Craig Harris John R. Zurich Kristine L. Waltz

SOCIAL

John A. Felix, Chairperson John A. Gummo Pamela L. Shipman

UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE OF LAW

John R. Bonner - Chairperson Walter J. Landen John A. Felix George E. Orwig, II Kevin R. Derr

YOUNG LAWYERS

Andrea J. Myers - Chairperson J. Michael Wiley Gregory A. Stapp Laurel A. Fox Thomas Waffenschmidt Kenneth B. Young

Lastly, I would like to personally thank Angela Campana Lovecchio, Esquire, outgoing LLA President, for her leadership and dedication to the organization. I continue to believe that the LLA's success is truly the result of great leadership and strong, hardworking committees.

Sincerely, LYCOMING LAW ASSOCIATION

Michele S. Frey, Executive Director