Judge McCoy Appointed to Juvenile Court Judges' Commission

Posted on June 18th, 2019 at 10:22 PM
Judge McCoy Appointed to Juvenile Court Judges' Commission

Lycoming County Judge Joy Reynolds McCoy was recently notified by Governor Wolf of her appointment to the Juvenile Court Judges' Commission..

The Juvenile Court Judges' Commission was established by the Pennsylvania Legislature in 1959. Members of the commission are nominated by the Chief Justice of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court and appointed by the governor for three-year terms.

The Juvenile Court Judges' Commission is responsible for:

  • Advising juvenile courts concerning the proper care and maintenance of delinquent and dependent children;
  • Establishing standards governing the administrative practices and judicial procedures used in juvenile courts;
  • Establishing personnel practices and employment standards used in probation offices;
  • Collecting, compiling and publishing juvenile court statistics; and
  • Administering a grant-in-aid program to improve county juvenile probation.

Judge McCoy will serve on the Commission with eight other judges, Hon. Kim Berkeley Clark, Chair, Allegheny County​; Hon. Carol Van Horn, ​Vice-Chair, Franklin/Fulton Counties; Hon. David R. Workman​, Secretary, Lancaster County; Hon. J. Brian Johnson, Lehigh County; Hon. Walter Olszewski, Philadelphia County; Hon. Stephen P. B. Minor; Potter County; Hon. Margaret T. Murphy, hiladelphia County; and, Hon. Maureen A. Skerda, Warren/Forest Counties​​.