Articles & News 2015

Eric LinhardtMary KilgusLLA Members Face the Voters in Primary

Members nominated for District Magistrate, District Attorney and Borough Council

In most communities, lawyers are involved in community affairs - by sitting on boards and by serving as elected officials. Lycoming County is no exception.

Several members of the Lycoming Law Association stood for elective office in the Spring 2015 primary election.

Jeffrey RoweIn one case, the race for District Attorney, a law degree is a prerequisite. Incumbent Eric Lindhardt was nominated by the Republicans for another 4 year term. He will be opposed by other LLA member, Mary Kilgus who was nominated by the Democrats. In a bit of a twist on the election routine, non-LLA member Paul Petcavage announced after the primary that he will attempt to get on the November election ballot as an independent.

Christian FreyTwo LLA members sought election as Magisterial District Judge. In Williamsport, Christian Frey successfully obtained both the Republican and Democrat nominations for the Judgeship currently held by James Carn. Barring a write-in campaign in the Fall, he should be elected to the position and begin serving in 2016.

Robert CroninJeff Rowe sought to unseat Judge Leo Armbruster of Union County. Jeff resides in Union County and works from his Williamsport office. In the hotly contested race, Armbruster was able to hold onto his seat, defeating Rowe and another candidate.

 Bob Cronin was nominated by the Republicans for South Williamsport Borough Council. Although no Democrat candidates were on the ballot, write-in votes were recorded, leaving the final result in question at this time.

Although the voters will not have the final word until November, it seems likely that the tradition of Lycoming County lawyers serving as elected officials will continue into 2016.